HOW TO: Do a Clean Install of OS X Lion

OS X Lion is now available from the Mac App Store and we know that many of you are preparing or have already started downloading and installing the new cat.

Because installation takes place entirely from within the Mac App Store, the usual “clean install” option isn’t present. If you’ve followed our guide for preparing your Mac for Lion, you’re probably in good shape to proceed with an upgrade. If, however, you long for the ability to do a clean install without having to first install Snow Leopard and THEN install Lion.

If you want to create a bootable USB stick or burn a DVD of OS X Lion, read along.

Advertisements

How To: Spruce Up a Boring Resume

Writing a resume is such a nebulous activity these days. You have to figure out which type of online resumeformat is best for you, whether to include a cover letter, how to incorporate social media into your resume, if avideo resume is a good idea and what you should include on your LinkedIn profile. Above all that, to get the job, you need to beat out all the other creative digital peeps who are producing dynamic digital resumes. Phew — that’s a lot of work!

We’re always finding new resources to help you on your journey to perfecting your digital resume, and we happened across this nifty infographic by the team at Colorado Technical University, which includes tips on creating a digital resume, as well as tips for sprucing up your traditional resume, for potential employers who still like the smell of top-linen paper. Enjoy.

How to Delete Applications on Facebook

Want to get rid of a Facebook application? This guide will show you how to do it.

Once you have logged in to Facebook, click on the Account button at the top right of the page and then select the option that says “Privacy Settings.”

Once you have done this, near the bottom left of the page, click on the link that says “Edit your settings.

Now, at the right extreme of the “Apps you use” area, click on the button that says “Edit Settings.

Once you have clicked on that button, you will see a list of all the applications you have authorized. On that list, click on the x at the right extreme of the app you want to remove. The system will ask you to confirm the action, and then the application will be removed from your account, which means that it will no longer have access to your data.